Things to Do in Boracay

Boracay is a small island, but there’s tons to do on here. Below is the list of things that I did during my short vacation there. However, there are definitely a lot more things that you can do.

Activities:

IMG_1452.JPG

  • Explore the Beaches: I particularly loved White Beach. It is such a nice beach that I want to cut out a plot of it and bring the piece back home with me. Remember to also stop by Willy’s Rock, a small rock jutting out of the sand that’s interesting to check out. Other notable beaches include Puka Beach, Diniwid Beach, and Illig-Illigan Beach. Just know that the beaches facing out to Sulu Sea are quite nice and clean, in fact one of the nicest beaches I’ve ever been to. However, the ones facing the opposite side, towards the Sibuyan Sea, although also clear looking, are actually known to be quite polluted with sewage. But for the cleaner side, enjoy activities like sailing, swimming, sun-bathing, parasailing, kitesailing, and any other water based sport you can think of! Try to haggle for these kinds of activities with the natives rather than purchasing deals online. You can frequently get a much better price. Just watch out so that you’re not paying out the cash until you’re 100% sure you will receive the service you’re paying for.
  • Shopping/Restaurants/Clubs/Bars: Go to D*Mall. And then exit the D*Mall by heading out towards White Beach. All along the sand, from Station 1 to Station 3, there are all sorts of bars, shops, and restaurants to go to. They’re mostly all sort of the same level so go ahead and explore. You can get everything from dried mangos, to swimwear, to henna tattoos and massages, among others.
  • Spas: There’s tons of nice and affordable spas in the area, so this is where to get your cheap massages and pedicures. I went to the Bella Isa Spa, ranked as the number 1 spa on the island. I paid out a small chunk of money for the full “I Deserve It” package. However, there’s smaller packages and services as well. The package I got consisted of a full body massage, a facial, a pedicure, and a hair spa treatment. It was my first time trying out a spa (I love trying new experiences) so I don’t know much of what to expect. But everything was delightful and I would totally recommend it for anyone even remotely interested.

Restaurants/Bars/Clubs:

  • Boracay Beach Pub – Station 4: I tried the Kangkung Tofu and the Mojito. The Kangkung Tofu (a dish with stirfried tofu and spinach) was quite mediocre. However, the mojito was very good. I would recommend coming here for just the mojitos, the best on the island in my opinion. The Pub also has a great buy one get one free deal for these. They also come in different flavors, like watermelon, lychee, and calamansi (a sort of baby lime that I think is native to the Philippines). I came once more during my trip and tried the watermelon mojito. Definitely give them a try! If you also have the time, sign up for the Pub Crawl. I haven’t tried it but I’ve heard some great stuff about it.
  • Lemoni Cafe: I ate here pretty frequently for lunch, and that’s not because the food was particularly amazing. The food was decent, both in taste and price but I really liked the atmosphere of it. It’s an open air establishment with calming decor, which gives you a great tropical vacation vibe along with the ability to people watch. However, there’s a roof and a nice fan system, so it keeps you quite cool and comfortable. I tried the egg white omelette, the shrimp and pomelo salad, and the shrimp pasta. The omelette and the salad were find but the pasta was too salty. If you want to go for food here, I definitely recommend going for the simpler dishes. More importantly, the drinks here were particularly good. In particular, I’ve had the Watermelon Crush and the Mint and Pineapple Crush (sort of fruit slushie drinks made with real fruit). I highly recommend the mint and pineapple crush, especially if you’re a mint lover like me.
  • Tres Amigas: Philippines is known for having decent Spanish/Mexican food because of its history. It also had a TripAdvisor recommended sticker, something I don’t usually rely on. However, it is a good gauge of if food is at least decent or not. Therefore, I went and had the beef chimichanga, supposedly the best seller. It was very good, and this is coming from someone who lived almost her entire life in San Diego, a city known for fusion style Mexican food. I actually went again during my trip, so highly recommend.
  • Ice Monster: Ice Monster has a variety of food that it sells. And out of a whim, I tried the deep fried seaweed rolls, a Korean dish. However, it was far too oily to stomach. Instead stick with what it’s supposed to specialize in, a Philippine style shaved ice dish. It comes in a variety of flavors but it’s basically shaved ice with condensed milk poured on it along with toppings. These toppings are the flavors you choose, and they come in a variety, from lychee to watermelon to Oreo. I’ve tried both lychee and watermelon and highly recommend the lychee one.
  • Epic: Epic is apparently THE club to go to in Boracay. It’s a high end bar until about 12am, when they move the tables and creates a dance floor. I however, only went for the drinks. Originally, I wanted to try it’s mojitos but they had run out of mint leaves. I instead got the mango daiquiri on a buy one get one 50% off deal. The daiquiri was alright but definitely a bit too sweet for my taste. I definitely missed the mojitos from Boracay Beach Pub.
  • Sea Breeze: This is a high end all you can eat buffet connected to a hotel. I went because from the outside, the place looked pretty fancy and there was quite a crowd and I wanted to treat myself. It was about $16 USD for AYCE, which is pretty high end for Boracay. However, as expected of hotel food, the food was quite mediocre. They had everything from sushi to grilled fish to pasta. However, I wouldn’t say it was anything special. Only go for the experience of a “fancy” AYCE buffet at Boracay.
  • OM Bar: I went here because it, like every other bar on Boracay, had outdoor beach side seating. What made it particularly stand out to me compared to the others were the bean bag chairs and cool looking lights. However, their drinks (I got the mojito) was only OK and definitely not worth price. There was no special deal. And the actual sitting experience was only OK.
Leave a Reply

